SD Governor’s 10th Biennial Art Exhibition

August 25 - November 12, 2023

Visual Arts Center | Everist Gallery 

The South Dakota Governor’s Biennial Art Exhibition was established in 2003. Its guiding mission is to encourage and recognize South Dakota artists working today and to promote the artistic identity of South Dakota. This show celebrates the cultural and creative heritage of the state and encourages a larger sense of connection across separate artistic communities within the state. The state biennial is intended as a celebration of artistic excellence and diversity. This traveling exhibition exposes South Dakotans and visitors to our state to the quality and range of artistic practices currently taking place. 

This 10th and largest biennial was juried by representatives from each of the participating institutions. Each juror viewed images individually before they spent a day together going through all the submissions. They eventually agreed on 74 works representing 69 artists from across the state. Selecting this final group was not an easy decision, but in the end, the lengthy jurying time was well spent and necessary, as this is the most inclusive and representative group from all 128 submitting artists. 

The artworks represented in this exhibition include drawing, sculpture and painting as well as 3D printed ceramic forms, plastic assemblages, fabric landscapes and various forms of photography, mixed media, collage and printmaking. This 10th Biennial is a nostalgic cross section of works exploring the landscape, the body and perceptions of self. There are numerous strong connections to the natural world, some quite solitary images, some ghostly, some humorous and experimental while others seem cast in a dreamlike state. There are incredibly wide-ranging and insightfully creative directions being pursued within the arts in our state today.

Tenyoh, John Banasiak, Michael Baum, Bridget Beck, Diana Behl, Angela Behrends, Chris Benson, Paul Boerboom, Amanda Boerger, Bonnie Brahms, Dillon Bryant, Luke Bryant, Skott Chandler, Wyatt Dickson, Susan Drey, Jordan Eaton, Lonnie Ellis, Molly Fulton & Tom Dempster, Carol Geu, Gina Gibson, Kristi Goodell-Nordbye, Luke Gorder, Sharon Gray, Becky Grismer, Bonnie Halsey-Dutton, Amber Hansen, Seth Harwood, Liz Heeren, Susan Heggestad, Jodi Jensen Vittitoe, Thomas Jones, Don Kates, Epiphany Knedler, Andrew Kosten, Amy Lehman, Dennis Linn, Christopher Meyer, Mikayla Meyer, Darcy Millette, Allen Morris, Darrel Nelson, Quintin Owens, Scott Parsons, Paul Peterson, Tim Peterson, James Pollock, Nick Poppens, James Quigley, Jessie Rasche, Jerry Rawlings, Anna Reich, Peter Reichardt, Tim Rickett, Camille Riner, Erik Ritter, Elvis Rosendo, Joe Schaeffer, J. Desy Schoenewies, Michelle St. Vrain, Tim Steele, Mark Stemwedel, Daniel Tackett, Lindsay Twa, Emilia Van Ert, Matthew Whitehead, Erin Wohletz, Anna Youngers and Tonna Zieske 

2023 Jurors:
Denise Du Broy | Rapid City Arts Council
Amy Fill | University of South Dakota
Cody Henrichs | Formerly of the Washington Pavilion of Arts & Science
Taylor McKeown | South Dakota Art Museum

View Exhibition Catalogue

Several of the pieces displayed in this gallery are available for purchase. For more information, please contact the Visual Arts Center at 605-731-2493 or