South Dakota Governor’s 9th Biennial Art Exhibition

June 26 - September 19, 2021

Visual Arts Center | Everist Gallery 

The South Dakota Governor’s 9th Biennial Art Exhibition is a touring exhibition that features artwork by 66 artists of diverse backgrounds, working in all mediums and styles, from all parts of our state. As such, it reflects the vitality of the visual arts in South Dakota. It is the art of our time and our place. The Biennial is a juried exhibition that was first held in 2003 and has maintained a tradition of excellence over the years. The 66 works of art in the 9th Biennial were selected by a panel of visual arts professionals. The process was rigorous, it involved extensive deliberation, experienced professionals who made the final choices judged the work to be outstanding. 

This exhibition is also a celebration of perseverance in the face of adversity. Creating artwork is never an easy endeavor. A pandemic in a time of social unrest has increased the demands of everyday living. Some artists are looking for new “day jobs.” Many children are learning from home and stay-at-home mandates mean more cooking, more cleaning and more worry about keeping family safe and well. In addition, the relationships that feed artists’ minds and souls are now nurtured remotely, without hugs. The galleries and museums that expose artists to new ideas and ways of seeing things may be closed or have reduced hours. In spite of all these challenges South Dakota artists have continued to make art, enter it in exhibitions and pack it for shipping. 

Artist Name(s): 
Tenyoh, Steve Babbitt, Byron Banasiak, John Banasiak, Michael Baum, Diana Behl, Angela Behrends, Amanda Boerger, Keith BraveHeart, Roger Broer, Dillon Bryant, Skott Chandler, Alexis Doerr, Nemo Dorn, Susan Drey, Bill Feterl, Thomas Fluharty, Jeff Freeman, Ginny Freitag, Carol Geu, Gina Gibson, Luke Gorder, Becky Grismer, Amber Hansen, Sarah A. Hanson-Pareek, Seth Harwood, Liz Heeren, Susan Heggestad, JoAnn Hoffman, Jodi Jensen Vittitoe, Rick Johns, Thomas Jones, Jeremy Kendall, Young Ae Kim, Karen Kinder, Epiphany Knedler, Haley Larson, Michele Meester, Christopher Meyer, Darcy Millette, Deborah Mitchell, Alan Montgomery, Safet Musinovic, Sandra Newman, Quintin Owens, Phyllis W. Packard, John Peters, Paul Peterson, Tim Peterson, D. George Prisbe-Przybysz, Michael Ramey, Jessie Rasche, Jerry Rawlings, Anna Reich, Tim Rickett, Erik Ritter,Barbara Rowe, Joe Schaeffer, J. Desy Schoenewies, Vickie Schumacher, Gary Steinley, Altman Studeny, Daniel Tackett, Dustin Twiss, Lynn Verschoor and Anna Youngers.

2020 JURORS:
Denise Du Broy | Rapid City Arts Council
Amy Fill | University of South Dakota
Cody Henrichs | Washington Pavilion of Arts and Science
Jodi Lundgren | South Dakota Art Museum

View Exhibition Catalogue

Several of the pieces displayed in this gallery are available for purchase. For more information, please contact the Visual Arts Center at 605-731-2493 or

View Visual Arts Center Hours